This part of the JAMB brochure shows you the requirements to apply for Statistics under the Faculty of Engineering, Environment and Technology in Nigerian polytechnics and monotechnics. You will see the UTME subject combination needed to apply for the course, O’level requirements for UTME candidates, requirements for Direct Entry candidates, as well as other information you require to successfully apply for the course.

List of Polytechnics / Monotechnics that Offer Statistics

  • Abdul-Gusau Polytechnic
  • Abia State College Of Health Sciences And Management Technology
  • Abia State Polytechnic
  • Adamawa State Polytechnic
  • Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic
  • Akwa Ibom State College Of Arts And Science
  • Akwa Ibom State Polytechnic
  • Allover Central Polytechnic
  • Auchi Polytechnic
  • Bayelsa State College Of Arts And Science
  • Benue State Poly
  • Bolmor Polytechnic
  • College Of Agriculture, Hadijia
  • Covenant Polytechnic, Aba
  • Crown Polytechnic
  • Delta State Polytechnic
  • Dorben Polytechnic
  • Federal College Of Agricultural Produce Technology
  • Federal College Of Agriculture, Moor Plantation
  • Federal College Of Animal Health And Production Tech, Ibadan
  • Federal College Of Forestry, Jos
  • Federal Polytechnic, Ado-Ekiti
  • Federal Polytechnic, Bali
  • Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi
  • Federal Polytechnic, Bida
  • Federal Polytechnic, Damaturu
  • Federal Polytechnic, Ede
  • Federal Polytechnic, Idah
  • Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro
  • Federal Polytechnic, Kaura Namoda
  • Federal Polytechnic, Mubi
  • Federal Polytechnic, Nasarawa
  • Federal Polytechnic, Nekede
  • Federal Polytechnic, Offa
  • Federal Polytechnic, Oko
  • Federal Polytechnic, Ukana
  • Fidei Polytechnic, Gboko
  • Grace Polytechnic, Lagos
  • Heritage Polytechnic
  • Hussaini Adamu Federal Polytechnic
  • Ibadan City Polytechnic
  • Igbajo Polytechnic
  • Imo State Polytechnic
  • Institute Of Management Technology, Enugu
  • Interlink Polytechnic
  • Jigawa State Polytechnic
  • Kaduna Polytechnic
  • Kogi State Polytechnic
  • Kwara State Polytechnic
  • Lagos State Polytechnic
  • Moshood Abiola Polytechnic
  • Nacabs Polytechnic
  • Niger State Polytechnic
  • Nuhu Bamalli Polytechnic
  • Ogun State Institute Of Technology
  • Osun State College Of Technology
  • Osun State Polytechnic
  • Plateau State Polytechnic
  • Polytechnic Of Sokoto
  • Rivers State College Of Arts And Science
  • Rivers State Polytechnic
  • Ronik Polytechnic
  • Rufus Giwa Polytechnic
  • Shaka Momodu Polytechnic
  • Temple-Gate Polytechnic
  • The Ibarapa Polytechnic, Eruwa
  • The Polytechnic Igbo-Owu
  • The Polytechnic, Ibadan
  • Tower Polytechnic, Ibadan
  • Uyo City Polytechnic
  • Waziri Umaru Fed. Polytechnic Birnin Kebbi
  • Wolex Polytechnic
  • Yaba College Of Technology

JAMB UTME Subject Combination

In UTME, note that English Language is mandatory for all courses. The other three subjects required to study Statistics under the Faculty of Engineering, Environment and Technology in the institutions listed above are:

Any of the two: 
1. Economics/Commerce 
4. Mathematics


(i) ILAROPOLY requires Mathematics, a basic science subject and any other subjects chosen from Economics/Commerce, Geography, Government/History, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology/Agricultural Science.

(ii) FEDPONAM also accepts Physics and Chemistry.

(iii) KAD-POLY accepts Mathematics and any two from Social or Physical Sciences.

(iv) FCAHPTIB requires Mathematics and any two from Geography, Physics, Economics and Chemistry.

(v) FCFJOS accepts either of Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Economics, Biology or Geography.

O’Level Requirements for UTME Candidates

To apply for Statistics as a UTME candidate, you require: Mathematics, 
a basic science and three other subjects chosen from the following: 
Further Mathematics, 
Biology/Agricultural Science. 
English Language, 
credit passes in English Language and Physics are compulsory.

Requirements for Direct Entry Candidates

To apply for Statistics as a Direct Entry candidate, you require: (i) KWA-POLY and ADAMAWAPOLY require credit in one Science Subject.

(ii) IBADANPOLY accepts Credit passes in Economic/Commerce, Statistics and at least a Pass in English Language but does not accept History.

(iii) IMTE does not insist on credit in Physics, and does not accept History, Commerce and Food and Nut. as subject for course requirements.

(v) AGP requires credit in English Language.

(vi) EKITIPOLY requires an additional credit in a science subject.

(vii) NASARAWAPOLY requires credits in Mathematics, a Social Sci. Subject, a basic Sci. subject and one other from the subjects listed in column 2 for Comp. Sci. Also a pass in English Language is required.

(viii) NASARAWAPOLY requires Mathematics and Economics, Commerce/Geo/Govt as UTME subjects.

(ix) YABATECH requires credit in English Language, Mathematics and any of Physics, Chemistry, Economics/Commerce, Biology or Further Mathematics Physics, Chemistry, Geography, Economics, Biology/Agricultural Science, Commerce or Accounting, Government/History at not more than two sittings.

(x) ILAROPOLY requires credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, a basic science subject and two other subjects chosen from Economics/Commerce, Geography, Government/History, Further Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology/Agricultural Science as course requirement.

(xi) EDEPOLY does not aspect on credit in Physics and does not accept Commerce.

(xii) IGBAJO and FIDEIPOLY require five credit in Mathematics, Eng. Lang, Physics and any other two subjects from the following: Chemistry, Bio/Agric, Further Math, Technical Drawing at not more than two sitting

(xiii) NEKEDEPOLY accepts Chemistry or Biology in place of Physics. Also does not accept Commerce and Government as UTME subjects.

(xv) RUGIPO requires Mathematics and any two of Geography, Physics, Economics and Chemistry as UTME subject combination.

(xvi) KWARAPOLY accepts Statistics as course requirement.

(xvii) RUGIPO accepts a pass in English Language.

(xviii) EDEPOLY requires credit in one Science Subject and does not accept Typewriting.

(xix) AKANUPOLY accepts Mathematics and any two of Further Mathematics or Additional Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology or Agricultural Science, Economics or Geography or Commerce.

(xx) OFFAPOLY requires Mathematics as UTME subject and any two other from Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Agricultural Science, Economics/ Geography/Commerce/Government.

(xxi) BAUCHIPOLY accepts Mathematics as core UTME subject plus any three of Economics/Commerce/Government, and any Science subject.

(xxii) OSPOLY requires credit pass in one basic Science subject.

(xxiii) IBADANPOLY requires credit passes in Mathematics, English Language, Physics and any other two from Economics, Geography, Chemistry, Biology/Agricultural Science.

(xxiv) FCFJOS requires Five O’ level credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Physics and any two of Chemistry, Biology, Geography, and Economics as course requirement.

(xxv) MAPOLY accepts four credits at not more than two sittings to include Mathematics with at least a pass in English language. English Language is not counted as required credit pass.

(xxvi) AISCAS requires credit passes in Mathematics, Physics/Chemistry and any other two subjects from Biology/Agricultural Science, Further Mathematics, Statistics, Technical Drawing, Physics, Chemistry and a pass in English Language.