GCSEs (General Certificates of Secondary Education) are the main qualifications taken by 14- to 16-year-olds in schools and colleges in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. But you can take them to gain a qualification in a subject you’re interested in at any age.

GCSEs are usually studied full time, taking two years to complete, however adult learners can take evening classes or teach themselves. Short course GCSEs are also available in selected subjects. There are no formal entry requirements and no age limits for GCSEs.

GCSE courses mainly involve studying the theory of a subject combined with some investigative work. Each qualification is at Level 1 or 2 on the National Qualifications Framework, depending on the grade you achieve. Highly valued by schools, colleges and employers GCSEs are the first step towards a range of careers or further study. GCSEs have been used as a benchmark to judge student ability for more than 25 years.

GCSEs are subject-specific qualifications. Our Edexcel GCSEs are available in over 40 subjects ranging from Art and Design to Urdu.

Grading Scale Explained

Edexcel IGCSE Past Examination Questions and Mark Scheme available for download.

Edexcel Mathematics Subjects

Mathematics A

Mathematics B

Further Pure Mathematics

Edexcel English Subjects

English Language A

English Language B

English Literature

English (as 2nd Language)

Edexcel Humanities

Religious Studies


Global Citizenship

Edexcel Social Sciences


Business Studies



Edexcel Languages




Edexcel Sciences




Edexcel Technology Subjects